Our History

The New Mexico Water Conservation Alliance (Alliance) was incorporated on January 27, 2000 as a New Mexico Non-Profit Corporation. Founding members included Doug Bennett as President and Dee Furst as Vice-President. Board members included Curtis Smith, Robert Matthews, Sharon Aller, and Alike Darilek. Since its inception, the Alliance has provided support to water conservation professionals and conferences/trainings on water efficiency in the State of New Mexico:


  • Rain Water Harvesting in May 1999
  • Industrial, Commercial, Institutional in September 1999
  • Industrial, Commercial, Institutional in August 2002
  • Landscape Training Workshop in December 2007
  • Turfgrass Water Conservation Training in October 2017